Maritime Aquarium Norwalk

I went to the Maritime Aquarium in Norwalk the other day with my two Hostkids. We had such a great time and the tanks are so beautiful!

I couldn’t resist the urge to take pictures so I brought my camera with me and these are some of my favorites from that day. And yes they do have meerkats at the Aquarium🙂

I think I have at least 400 pictures of Jellyfish now. Different kinds, different light. They are just such amazing creatures and so calming.

They even have a whole section for amphibians and a shark tank. It’s an amazing place to go on a rainy or snowy afternoon.

99 thoughts on “Maritime Aquarium Norwalk

      • Like spiders – all are poisonous. Some however
        have stings that are not long enough to penitrate
        human skin – or venom that isen’t nearly potent
        enogh to kill. Most can not sting with the bell – the
        part on top – the only one I know of that can do
        that from Austrailia – and yes it’s also deadly.

        The local Cannonball jelly is served in some
        restraunts and tastes – interesting.

    • The deadly box jellies are thought to be the most
      intelligent, though that is not saying much. They
      can turn to avoid an obstacle – such as a swimmer.
      unfortunately they are clumsly and their tenticals
      are so long the swimmer gets it anyway – these
      jellies also “sleep” on the sea floor by standing on
      their heads. On a more general note – a jelly turns
      back into a larva if it lives long enough so some
      might tecniquely be imortal in absence of disease
      and preaditios.

  1. Your pictures are amazing.. so crisp! thanks so much for sharing them… congrats from a biologist, traveler & amateur photographer from Brazil! http;//3rdculturechildren.com

  2. Great shots and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

    I live in Norwalk so I was super excited to see the Maritime Aquarium mentioned.

    All these pictures were obviously taken through glass, right? did you find that you had to look for a particularly clean spot?

  3. Lovely pictures. We always carry a spray bottle of vinegar to neutralize the jellyfish stings when we go to the beach. Baking soda or meat tenderizer works well too.

  4. I love this post! I went to the NY Aquarium this past summer and I was so fascinated by the Seahorse. To prepare for my trip I had researched some of the animals and I was amazed to learn about how many types of sea life their is.

  5. Great post! Those pictures above were very well captured. Keep it coming! I really appreciate your post, I am a Biology graduate and focused on Marine Biology. I love those creatures!

  6. Amazing pictures. I have always been in love with aquatic life, even though I have never set a foot in an aquarium (I am changing that soon!). I have been in an underwater dome to see the dolphins. It was amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Oh the Maritime Center! I used to go there all the time as a kid, my favorite part was the seal feeding, when the handlers would feed the seals! I haven’t been there in years! But I remember the shark tank and all the jellyfish. I need to go back there!

  8. Pingback: Maritime Aquarium Day Trip! « Adventures of A Random Girl

Leave a Reply

